Day 1: 31 Day Reset

As I mentioned yesterday I am taking @happyblackwoman up on her 31 Day Reset Challenge. Below is the assignment for Day 1 and below that is

Day 1 Assignment

The following three-part exercise will help to prepare you fully for the month ahead. Estimated Time to Complete: 30-45 minutes

1. Choose Your Reset Notebook

To participate fully in the exercises for the month, you will need a dedicated, blank notebook for the exercises. You will be using it every day to record your responses, insights and “aha moments” throughout the challenge. It can be a notebook you already have but haven’t used yet or it can be a brand new notebook that you buy specifically for this challenge. If you have a blog, you can use your online space to keep track of the exercises, but due to the nature of the challenge, you may not want to share EVERY little detail of what comes to your mind during this self-discovery process. So, I recommend that everyone designate a physical notebook to go along with your online tools.

2. Choose a Personal Mantra

A mantra is a positive phrase or affirmative statement that you say to yourself for the purpose of motivation or encouragement. This could be your favorite quote, proverb, spiritual truth or religious saying. For this exercise, you’ll want to choose one that represents what you hope to become or believe by the end of this challenge. Then, write it on the first page of your Reset Notebook as a blessing on everything that will be written and accomplished this month.

3. Choose a Theme Song

Choose a theme song for the coming month. Imagine what song you would want following you around during your daily journey to reset your life. It should be a song that brings about some kind of motivation or inspiration for you. Play this song every morning (or evening) as you begin your day or in the background as you reflect on and complete each assignment.

My Day 1

1. Choose Your Reset Notebook

I have chosen to post as much of my revelations and discoveries as I can here on the blog. I do anticipate some things may be too personal to share with all of you. For this reason, I will either jot those things down in the personal journal that I already keep or I will keep and electronic journal (word file). simply because I can type faster than I can write

2. Choose a Personal Mantra

This was actually a hard one for me. I’ve thought about it all day. I’m still undecided. (its been a long day) Here are a few I’m considering.

  • Be your best self. Live your best life.
  • Live, Laugh, Love
  • The way to gain a good reputation is to endeavor to be what you desire to appear. ~Socrates
  • Be not afraid of growing slowly; be afraid only of standing still. ~Chinese Proverb
  • Fear less, hope more, eat less, chew more, whine less, breathe more, talk less, say more, hate less, love more, and good things will be yours. ~Swedish Proverb
  • If we all did the things we were capable of, we would astound ourselves. ~Thomas Edison

I know they are a little all over the place. I need to work harder to find a quote that embodies my goal for the entire year not just the end of this challenge.  However, if I stay focused on this 31 Day Reset it may be easier to decide. Hmmm….what I want from this challenge is to grow and learn more about myself so I can be a better me. So you know what? I’m going with the first one.

My personal mantra for the Challenge is ….

Be your best self. Live your best life.

3. Choose a Theme Song

My first thought was Jill Scott “Blessed” mainly because its so easy (for me) to get bogged down with the things that have gone wrong and forget about the things that have gone right. Deep down I know that every day I wake up I’m blessed, if for no other reason than I lived to see another day. So every time I hear that song I remember I am truly blessed.

My close second was The Clark Sisters “Blessed and Highly Favored” for similar reasoning. I know God has blessed me and his favor has got me this far in life because “it could’ve been me, it would’ve been me, it should’ve been me if it wasn’t for the blooood”

Well its late and I’m tired and I may still change my mind on the Mantra and the Theme Song, but hopefully not.

Leave a Reply

