Is you happy?

This grammatically incorrect line from one of my favorite rappers, T.I., “Is you happy?” is a question that I recently gave some thought. A tweet that asked me, well all of twitterville, to rate my life on a scale from 1 to 10 (10 being wonderful). I was about to just throw a number back when I stopped to actually think about my life and I realized I was perplexed.

On one hand I am very blessed. I have very little to complain about. I have my health, both my parents, my sister, a doggie, a home, a car and a job to barely pay for it all. I know things could be much worse, so many people are homeless and truly struggling, orphaned and alone without friends or family, or sick and fighting just to live each day.

On the other hand I certainly don’t love, or even like, my “career” job, I’m starting to be burnt out by my PT job (read about that dilemma here), and I don’t know what I want to do “when I grow up”! I’m 30+ divorced and fed up with dating, or more accurately trying to date. While I have certainly lost weight and am fairly confident about my appearance, I realized I’m still “overweight” according to the BMI and I’m not getting any younger. And while I love my mother and my sister they tend to drive me crazy, especially since they both live within a 10 mile radius. Basically I’m not where, or even near, I thought I’d be at this point in my life in my career, family, romantic, or personal life and I don’t know where “there” is much less how to get there.

So finally I decided to go with a 6.5, which actually made me sad. I reposed the question to my friends on facebook. I received two answers one was a 10 (yay! for that friend 🙂 ) and the other was a 8.5 (not to shabby).

The good thing about this is I am vowing to live my best life. I don’t know how to go about it exactly, but I’m looking into switching careers, maybe even going back to school. I’m doing a little better in the men department by trying to be more proactive and speak my mine (these are really baby steps). I’m starting to say no to things I really don’t want to do. I’m caring less about what people think and working on my fear of failure.

How about you? Is you happy? How would you rate your live overall on a scale from 1-10? If less than let’s say an 8, what do you plan to do to raise your number? What’s stopping your life from being a 10? and can you do anything about it?

Leave a Reply

