Food Trucks: My new obsession

You may be saying food trucks…that’s so last year…lol. I’ve heard they’ve been all the rage in other parts of the US, but here in ATL they’re a fairly new craze. Something to do with strict food preparation regulations or park zoning issues. Either way the Atlanta Street Food Coalition has come together to provide us with great street food options at various spots throughout the week.

I’m hardly a  foodie, actually I’m a very picky eater, but I like to be in the know and try new things. So one day after reading about Food Truck Fridays at Atlantic Station on twitter I decided to head on over at my lunch break. That particular day there were about 8 trucks in attendance and after pursuing a couple of tex-mex trucks, a sliders truck, a salad/wrap truck, a creole truck I decided on a chicken quesadilla and it was delicious. They even had a couple of dessert trucks with cupcakes and popsicles!

Ever since then I’ve been following them to various locales trying to find a new one and turning other people on to them. I have caught them twice more at Howell Mill Food Park in the evening. Like I already said, I’m a picky eater, so I usually end up at the same truck, Tex’s Tacos, their chicken quesadilla is delicious, the chicken is well seasoned and the cheese is gooey and flavorful. I want to try the chicken and pulled pork sliders from Slider U, a hot dog from The Pup Truck, the Arnold Palmer and Strawberry Lemonade popsicles from King of Pops, and beignets and snowcone from Just Loaf’n. As you can see I’m excited about these food trucks. lol 🙂

If you are in the Atlanta area check out The Atlanta Street Food website for the food trucks that are in the city and where they are weekly. I know they are at Howell Mill Tuesdays evenings, Midtown Thursday afternoons and Atlantic Station Friday Afternoons. You can also follow the various trucks (or @ATLStreetFood) on twitter for the most up-to-date info on where the trucks are setting up.

Check out my pics for Howell Mill Food Trucks.

Leave a Reply

