The Man Hunt: An Event Review

I made a decision to do more things (in general) in 2011. Each year I think of all the events, festivals, parties, trip, etc I miss out on. This is partly due to the fact that I just can’t be everywhere, but also due to the fact that I don’t make it a point to get out and try new things. Living in an urban environment often provides you with a plethora of entertainment options. As a result you either end up being extremely social by trying different events weekly or you find a few events you truly enjoy and you develop a routine. I tend to lean towards the latter, hence my deliberate effort to do new things in this year.

So last weekend I hit up a fairly new event here in Atlanta, The Man Hunt. The Man Hunt is the brainchild of the creators of PlayDate. The website describes the concept as “an event where singles meet up to enjoy quality conversation, cocktail and entertainment all while making genuine connections.” Now in the past I’ve tried to avoid these kinds of events. I’ve always associated a negative connotation to these sorts of singles gatherings (speed dating, matchmaking, etc). My thought was that they consisted of desperate women trying to find a man and men who know this and show up to take advantage. I mean, after all they called it “The Man Hunt”. What does that sound like?

However, the more I thought about my assumptions, the more I realized my logic was flawed. Truth is how can you expand your social circle if you don’t put yourself out there socially? Also, if I was honest with myself I would like to meet a nice guy, not necessarily my future husband, but a nice guy to have some fun with (not that kind of fun, get your mind out the gutter). Sure this could happen spontaneously in the grocery store or at the stop light, but why not help your odds by attending an event that’s hopefully full of quality singles. Plus who doesn’t like quality conversation, cocktails and making genuine connections. It didn’t hurt that I was feeling really cute with my fresh new do 😉

So I whipped my hair back and forth, put on a sexy, but not too sexy burgundy dress accompanied with some my most complimented pair of pumps and head out, solo. Partially because all my girls had plans (or have men) but mainly because I’ve heard time and time again that women who roll solo are easier to approach and I wanted to be approached doggone-it.

I have to say I enjoyed this event. Even though the women outnumbered the men, as usual, there was a fairly good mix and I felt that both sexes should have been satisfied with the selection of the opposite sex. The men were respectable, the women approachable, the drinks tasty, the conversations interesting. When I looked around I saw people engaged in discussions, some were paired up others in groups. It seemed a good time was had by all.

I don’t think the schedule was followed, but one scheduled task, a panel discussion called “The 3 Stools” was interesting. Charmaine, author of “The Bait to Get Your Mate” led an open discussion where three women (and later three men) one in her 20’s, 30’s, and 40’s were selected to come up front and share some of their experiences, problems, etc… SMH Somehow I ended up being one of the women on the stool. So that was an experience. Sadly the conversation took an expected turn to men vs. women, but Charmaine and the hosts did a good job of keeping the very rowdy bunch on topic. All in all it was a good night.

And it was a success I met three seemingly nice guys. I’ve talked to all three after this event. I had two long, over 30min, interesting conversations with one, tentative plans to meet up with another and a couple of shorter convos with the third. I’m glad I had the opportunity to meet some new people. I will definitely attend the next event!

If this event comes to your area or if you live in Atlanta, I’d encourage you to check it out! If not, I’d say hit up a few single events, it couldn’t hurt.

So what about you? Are you a creature of habit? or do you make it a point to vary your activities? Do you attend “singles” events? Have you had any luck at them? where have you meet the most interesting people?

3 comments on “The Man Hunt: An Event Review

  1. Pingback: 4 Questions from The Man Hunt… « This is Tip

  2. Pingback: Do nice guys really finish last? « This is Tip

  3. Pingback: The End of the Man Cleanse | This is Tip

Leave a Reply

