Instant Gratification

Let’s face it, we live in a society of instant gratification.

We don’t want to wait for anything and in the days of internet, smartphones and 4G we don’t have to, we can get instant results with just the click of a button. We have fast food restaurants on every corner, on demand features that allow us to watch what we want to watch when we want to watch it and grocery stores are filled with tv dinners, instant rice, and premade dishes/meals.

I think the primarily place we desire instant results is in weight loss. We are all guilty, I know I am!  That’s why it’s a multi-billion dollar industry. Everybody wants to cut corners or loss weight with little effort. Every day is seems like there’s a new crazy invention for weight loss (i.e. shake weight) or ways to distort your actually weight (spanx)

Case in point – look at what I saw in the store the other day…

and…

I had to stop and look at these more closely. After I stopped laughing, I thought really??? this is what we’ve come to…instead of working out and watching what we eat, we’re just going to tape our thigh and arm fat back to create an illusion of being lean.

This was just too sad to me, first because it was silly. Secondly, I can’t believe anyone would buy this (which may be why they were both on clearance at a discount store for $1) and lastly I know somebody somewhere had to have tried this.

I also wonder wouldn’t someone notice the tape? I mean I guess on the thigh version the tape could be covered by your shorts, skirt or dress, but if you use the arm one as recommended with short sleeves, how does that work?

Anyway, what are some of the dumbest inventions you’ve seen in stores or on tv?

One comment on “Instant Gratification

  1. First of all LMBO at the instant arm and thigh lift. Listen, you know I love As Seen on TV stuff; I love my Snuggie and Green Bags and I want the brownie pan (eventhough I hardly cook or eat brownies at home) as well as the giant cupcake cake pan (my nieces would love it) but this is getting really ridiculous. I too laughed at the shake weight; until I tried it (my coworker keeps one in his office). To my surprise, it actually works and you do have to put some effort into it. But yes, I agree, we do want a lot in a little bit of time and even less effort. Sad but true. *Thinking about getting that shake weight.

Leave a Reply

