Valentine’s Smalentine’s

Roses and Chocolate (tried and true)

Today well actually tomorrow as I write this watching the Grammys is Valentine’s Day. Thanks to the holiday falling on a Monday this year, I was able to witness how crazy this holiday really is. Everywhere I went this weekend, the mall, the grocery store, the cupcake shop, was packed and covered in pink and red! It made me wonder… Am I the only woman who really doesn’t care about Valentine’s day?

I’m sure this makes me sound single and bitter, but seriously I’m not…bitter that is, not single meaning I am single. Even the years I’ve been booed up Vday isn’t that big of a deal to me. Don’t get me wrong, if I’m in a relationship I want something, like hmm…a card, but I don’t want the cliché dinner at a fine restaurant, chocolate and flowers. I’d much more prefer a handmade card and a dinner at home…maybe a pizza or order chinese-in.

It could be assumed that my indifference to the holiday stems from a history of bad Valentine’s days, but actually I’ve had some good experiences. However, they were memorable because of the thought behind the plans of the day, like my first valentine in high school wrote me a love poem and gave me a dozen long stem roses. Another year, another guy I was pleasantly surprised by a homemade card accompanied by some Girl Scout Thin Mints. No cheesy dinner, no preprinted hallmark card…ok the roses were tired and true, but hey it was HS.

I guess I just don’t like the contrived-ness of it all, I mean I’d rather my SO do something special for me on another day of the year. Just come home one Wednesday and surprise me with a trip to my favorite restaurant or bring me some cupcakes because you thought of me that day, don’t do it because you feel you have to because its February 14th.

Three things* I don’t get about Valentine’s Day:

1. Eating out on a day that you know errybody and dey momma is going to be out, therefore causing ridiculously long lines, slow service and sub par food. (this applies to mothers day as well)

2. A grown man sending a grown woman flowers on her job. Don’t y’all live together? or won’t you be over later? why you gotta send flowers to her place of work? oh right so her coworkers can be jealous of how great a guy you are. Really, how old are we?!

3. The giving of flowers. Know I’m weird about this, but giving a gift that is just going to die has never made much since to me. Honestly I’ve discovered that I really do like flowers, but roses just seem so boring. Why not a mix of wildflowers, tulips or lilies? a bouquet in the color scheme of my favorite colors? My main point is they die…do you want our relationship to die as well? hmmm

What say you? How do you feel about Valentine’s day? Is it a big deal to you? Am I a Vday Grinch?

*I’m sure I could think of more, but I’m exhausted from the Grammys and I’m trying to catch the RHOA reunion show before drifting off.

2 comments on “Valentine’s Smalentine’s

  1. No you are not the only woman who doesn’t care about Valentine’s Day. I don’t give a sugar-honey-ice-tea about the 14th of February, other than the fact that Valentine’s Day candy will be on clearance shortly after. I too remember the grand gestures (as grand as you can get at 15, 16 or 17) by my high school boyfriends–oversized stuffed animals, huge boxes of chocolates, long stem red roses, and maybe a love letter or a poem. Then there was the sale of candygrams for $.50 each to be delivered in homeroom, seeing who gave what to whom and who collected the most. Let’s take it back even further, giving and collecting Valentines in elementary and middle school. I remember taking time out of instruction to make mailboxes for your valentine cards and/or candy. They even sent a list home with your classmates’ names so everyone would get one (did they do that for Christmas, I don’t think so, but I digress). I think Valentine’s Day all comes down to this…PDA. I don’t mean that in the sense of kissing and groping in public, but “showing” everybody (family, friends, coworkers, strangers, etc.) that you have someone in your life and that you bought them something and/or took them somewhere. Let’s see how you act the other 364. Maybe I sound bitter, and maybe I am. So let me clarify. I don’t hate Valentine’s Day, I hate how it and every other holiday is about stuff–giving and getting stuff. Very commercialized, very contrived, very Hallmark and Russell Stovers. Not that I’ll reject anything that comes my way today or anyother day for that matter. Thank you and Happy Valentine’s Day, I guess.

    • Yes, this is exactly what I’m trying to say. I don’t like the commercial, forced aspect of it. Just do something nice for me because you love me and not JUST on V-day.
       
      Valentines has become a combo of PDA, show n tell and a popularity contest (to your point; much like Christmas). It’s all about proving your love with material things, show off how great your bf/gf is and who has the most suitors.
       
      The cliché of it all get me…its always dinner, flowers and chocolates. Why? Because that’s what the commercials sell you. I would and have turned down V-day dinners, last year it was Arby’s please!
       

Leave a Reply

