Unthinkable – Tip’s Remix

If you ask me I’m READY!

Ugh, Tez keeps telling me he just turned 30
having dreams of being single forever he’s getting worried
and I’m scared too because I’m in the same boat
good women are rare too, none of them have came close
me I haven’t changed much, you know how I play
better safe than sorry
instead of searching for substance at every single party
baby being part of this life
I feel like I’m bound to end up with somebody
that’s been with everybody
I need you to rescue me from my destiny
I’m trying to live right and give you whatever’s left of me
cause you know life is what we make it and a
chance is like a picture, it’d be nice if you just take it.
Or let me take it for ya
I’m just down to ride
or we can roll around the city until you finally decide
I got more than a thing for you, tattoo and ink for you
right over my heart girl I do the unthinkable

In case you live in a cave and have never heard this song, listen now:

*if for some unimaginable reason you’ve never seen the official video check it out, I thought it was an unexpected twist http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhuGQUZJot8*

Although I already loved the original version of Alicia Key’s Unthinkable,  I STAN the remix because i love Drake I can really identify with Drakes lyrics. Now I don’t consider myself a desperate seeker of love, but I’d be lying if I said I wouldn’t like to be in a healthy fulfilling relationship. Notice I said fulfilling cuz I can do bad all bad myself (This should be a given, but you have to classify things these days).

Ugh, Tez keeps telling me he just turned 30, having dreams of being single forever he’s getting worried

I’ve hit 30 and I have to say that I am a little concerned that I may remain single. Now before y’all start thinking I’m saying 30 is decrepit, I’m not. I know 30 is the new 20 sideeyes JayZ heck one of my cousin’s got married last year at 39 and is now pregnant at 40! Personally, I don’t think I want to be pushing out no babies after 35, but that’s just me. So I’ve realized that while I may not truly be single forever that some of the visions/dreams I had may not happen.

and I’m scared too because I’m in the same boat, good women are rare too, none of them have came close

Drake I gotta disagree here, I don’t think good women or men are scarce. I know some good guys but finding that good man who I’m compatible with, attracted to and interested in been elusive. So maybe the none of them have come close (to what I wanted) is accurate.

me I haven’t changed much, you know how I play better safe than sorry

Yup that’s how I play too, I’m always playing it safe, I’m just calculated like that. Sadly, I think this sometimes bites me in the butt, because I can be too cautious.

instead of searching for substance at every single party

This is how I know I’m cool with being single, because I’m certainly not searching. I’d say I’m open. I haven’t  stumbled on any substance anywhere though.

baby being part of this life I feel like I’m bound to end up with somebody that’s been with everybody

Now I know that the “life” Drake is talking about here is the life of celebrity, but I translate this life to “the life of an over 30 single professional woman who lives in a major city where the woman:man ratio is supposedly exponential high”. Really that’s hard enough, so I can’t imagine factor in being a star and wondering if someone really likes you for you. Add this ratio to the fact that most men are manwhores and that women’s standards are drastically dropping I’m can’t imagine how I could end up with someone who hasn’t been with everybody.

I need you to rescue me from my destiny

This is a little overkill, but I happy for a once its a man saying he wants to be rescued. Seriously though, what woman would turn down a little heroism? oh yeah a feminist…darn feminist!

I’m trying to live right and give you whatever’s left of me

I agree Drake, I’m just trying to live right, whether or not there is someone out there for me. If he’s out there, there will be plenty left for him.

cause you know life is what we make it and a chance is like a picture, it’d be nice if you just take it or let me take it for ya

This is my motto for 2011. I’m going to make the best out of my life, I’ve chosen to think of each day as a gift and rejoice in it! I’m going to take more chances and set up to do some things I want to do. Just last weekend I went out with a guy I meet on twitter (huge for me), I started this blog, I’m determined to go skydiving and I’m thinking of taking a trip by myself before the end of the year.

I’m just down to ride or we can roll around the city until you finally decide

Yup, that how I’m looking at life, it’s a ride and we just gotta hold on and see where it takes us. Maybe there’s someone who will come take the wheel for me while I slide over to the passenger side, but either way I’m going to enjoy it.

I got more than a thing for you, tattoo and ink for you, right over my heart girl I do the unthinkable

I got nothing for the tattoo part, but  I do feel ready to do the unthinkable, in relationships, in my career, in my life in general!

Are you over 30 and single? Are you worried that you maybe single forever? Is your biological clock ticking? Are you actively looking? Are you tired of dating?

Do you love this song as much as me (seriously I still have this song in rotation)? Do you prefer the original or the remix? Do you find Drakes lyrics relatable (here and in his other songs)? Are you just tired of hearing Drake?

4 comments on “Unthinkable – Tip’s Remix

  1. GREAT! After my situation last year, this was my favorite drake verse ever… I may break this down for myself also.. Good stuff!! My blog is coming soon! ByronWright.com!

    “a chance is like a picture, it’d be nice if you just take it”

  2. Well Tiff, you’ve done it again…given me something to think about that is. Been thinking about the unthinkable a lot lately but on the heels of your last blog, (Follow your heart?), I’m cautious about taking that step–which is funny because Mr. Unthinkable told me to take one step towards and he’d take two towards me…what a line, but I digress. That step being a step towards trying to see if it’s even worth exploring. My “No Strings Attached” situation just might get complicated. At any rate, I think the best route is to continue hanging out and see what happens–maybe something, maybe nothing and if the unthinkable happens well then great.

    “I’m just down to ride or we can roll around the city until you (we) finally decide”

Leave a Reply

