Know-it-All Newcomers: If you don’t like it, leave!!

 
Blizzard 2011

Blizzard 2011

After having a debate with a Facebook “friend” about the way Atlanta handled the 2011 “Blizzard” I remembered how much I dislike northerners. Well not all of them, just the ones who move to the south then constantly put southerners (and their ways) down. Since I love to share this feeling is not limited to northerners but applies to any foreigner to a region, organization or group who does nothing but complain about the very thing they chose to become a part of. Our discussion got me fired up enough to want to share my thoughts on this particular subject, so here goes my first post…(sorry if it reads like a rant)I’ll start with the debate I was having with my “friend”, a Ohio native (I believe), stated that the City of Atlanta handled the recent snow event poorly, that it made no sense for a major metropolitan area to be shut down over 3” (it actually ranged from 4-6”) of snow. He argued that Atlanta should have been better prepared and that there was no excuse for the state not to have more resources. On the other hand I argued that it would be insane for Atlanta to stock pile and maintain equipment, materials and supplies for a 10yr snow event. I won’t bore you with our entire exchange but my ultimate point is if you don’t like the way southerners handle snow, don’t live here. It’s a common belief that southern states (rural and urban areas) shut down when there’s even a chance of snow, we clear the shelves of bread and milk, we cancel school, we close offices, etc. Since you know this either stock up and enjoy your day off or move back to wherever it is you came from. (which is exactly what I told my neighbor from Philly who asked me why our neighborhood didn’t own a snow plow o_O)
 
I think he thought I was offended at his “attack” of the south and while I was to a certain degree, my main problem was his Know-it-all Newcomer attitude. NOTE: I’m not saying that just because you were there first you’re right, but I am implying that as the newcomer you should fall in place with natives. Basically “when in Rome…”
 
Here are five more instances where I think the newbies should just adjust and shut up:
 
1) If you watch House Hunters (I love the show) you’ll know what I mean here. Why do people from –oh let’s say – Houston, TX move to New York City and complain when their real estate explains to them that their $200,000 budget that bought them a 3br/2.5ba nicely appointed single family home in Houston only buys a 450SF efficiency next to a subway rail in the Bronx? Everyone knows it costs an arm and a leg to live in NYC. If you don’t want to pay the equivalent of a mcmansion mortgage to rent a glorified walk-in closet, don’t move there!

 

3) Next immigrants who complain about the US in general from government to our lifestyle. If life was so great in Slovenia*, why did you move here? It wasn’t like you just drove across state borders you had to put some effort into relocating to the States. So if you don’t like democracy, believe our education systems is defunct, think taxes are ridiculous, hate our dependency of automobiles, or find us a lazy bunch then do some research and find a country that operates more to your liking and move there!

 4)Back to HGTV (again my fellow House Hunters International viewers will feel me) Don’t move to another country and then complain about how un-American it is! DUH?! You’re not in America you’re in Japan, Brazil, Sweden, Denmark, Slovenia or wherever it is that you decided to move. For the life of me I don’t know why people move to Beijing and expect to have a full size American refrigerator or to Denmark and complain that there are no garages (they don’t drive there). No wonder no one likes Americans-we’re a pushy, whiny bunch. If you don’t want a 200yr old villa don’t move to Rome!!!

 5) Lastly immigrants that go to any country and refuse to learn the native language. I honestly don’t believe that happens anywhere but here in the US. If you don’t like the country enough to desire to communicate with it’s residents, don’t move there!!!

In closing (wow that took me back to high school term papers) my irritation has more to do with the more general notion of transplants complaining about their new surroundings than the actual snow event (or any of my other examples).
EDIT: I didn’t ask any questions! LOL Am I alone? Does this irk or confuse anybody else? Do you have an example of someone who’s new to a group and can’t stop complaining or comparing it to some other group?  

*random country I selected from Wiki’s list of sovereign nations.

 
 

 

 

DISCLAIMER: I am not in any way saying that people don’t have the right to have and voice their opinions. Neither am I saying that just because things have been handled a certain way in the past that that is the definitive way to handle them in the future. Change is necessary and usually someone has to stand up and usher in that change.

 

 2) The “Plastics” of Morehouse are a perfect example of newbies trying to overthrow the current status quo. DISCLAIMER:I’m not judging their decision to crossdress, I’m simply questioning their decision to go to an all male school when they don’t necessarily considered themselves men. Trying to buck an over 100yr old tradition of The Morehouse Man by making statements like “And I don’t know why a Morehouse man can’t become a woman.” utterly confuse me. Basically if you wanna dress like (or eventually become) a woman don’t go to an all male school!

4 comments on “Know-it-All Newcomers: If you don’t like it, leave!!

  1. “After having a debate with a Facebook “friend” about the way Atlanta handled the 2011 “Blizzard” I remembered how much I dislike northerners. ”

    I always playfully tease Atlanta and southerners for going bananas when 2 inches of snow hit the ground because we’re barely bat a FAKE eyelash if that happened here, but in all seriousness, it WOULD be a waste of tax dollars for ya’ll to have the resources we have in say, Chicago. And yeah, it’s dumb to move your entire being someplace, only to complain about it. You should’ve known what you were getting into, A. And 2, you have the choice to leave.

    “5) Lastly immigrants that go to any country and refuse to learn the native language. I honestly don’t believe that happens anywhere but here in the US. If you don’t like the country enough to desire to communicate with it’s residents, don’t move there!!!”

    My sister says the same thing, “Could we go to YOUR country demanding that ya’ll speak OUR language?” I mean, it’s one thing that some countries learn multiple languages, but I don’t think it’s outrageous to expect someone to speak a language that is universally known as their official one.

Leave a Reply

